Query Letter for The New York Times

Travel Editor

The New York Times

229 West 43rd Street

New York, N.Y. 10036

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

The borough filled with hipsters and gourmet farm to table restaurants is not my home. The borough filled with alternative clothing stores and struggling artists is not my home. The borough filled with repurposed tools and Instagram worthy streets is not my home. The borough that Brooklyn has become is certainly not my home. My article details my experiences growing up in Brooklyn, my Brooklyn. It connects back to roots, following my personal and emotional growth through a borough I can no longer call my own.

 

The personal essay is written from a strong first-person point of view, recounting memories of Brooklyn experiences, concluding in the inevitable realization that my home has changed so much that I can barely conceive calling it home.

 

In a mix of tones from being light-hearted to introspective, this essay patterns the trials, joys, and realities of watching both you and your home change.

 

Thank you in advance for taking the time to consider my work. I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

 

Sincerely,

 

Jordan Scharf

Jordanscharf24@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

